Summer Institute 2016 by Japan Foundation

20160728162903

My travelsketch: Tokyo Sky Tree from Asakusa

Around April, a friend of mine informed me that there was a program called summer institute 2016 and held by Japan Foundation. The requirements was quite simple, all you had to do was prepare 1 page of collaborative research plan and statement of purpose (explanation of why they should choose you as participant). The deadline was coming soon yet I didn’t prepare anything as we had to take care of my Father who was hospitalized since March. Time went by so fast and the deadline came in front of my eyes. With full confidence, I wrote the required papers 5 hours before the final time and sent it to the committee. The result published on the end of May. It was shocking when I received an email which was written like this:

“Dear Mr. Setyo Nugroho,

Thank you very much for your application to the Japan Foundation Summer Institute 2016 program in Japan. It is my pleasure to inform that you are selected as one of the participants…”

I was so happy back to Japan after my last visit 4 years a go! My flight arrived in Narita International Airport which was located in Chiba, the neighborhood of Tokyo. The whole program was held in Hayama, Kanagawa 35 km down south from Yokohama. Before going to Hayama, we stayed one night in downtown Tokyo. In this very short time in Tokyo, I met my friend (and her husband) who study in the University of Tokyo and asked her to guide me walking around the campus. We also visited the new statue of Hachiko reunited with the owner, Professor Ueno. After strolling around the campus, I decided to go to Asakusa to see some new landmarks of the city (Asakusa cultural tourist information center and Tokyo Sky Tree from a distance).

20160728153453

With Friends in front of Akamon (red gate) the University of Tokyo

Hayama was so beautiful and calm place plus the hotel where we stayed providing the best view to Mt. Fuji. Overall, the program was divided into two parts, main program in Hayama and field trip in Fukushima. The participants were coming from Southeast Asia, Japan and US with diverse background of study. They’re truly humble and wouldn’t mind to share knowledge with all participants.  Even though we studied different field of study, we were asked to make a collaborative project and discuss related to the issue of Japanese studies. Japanese studies didn’t mean that your background of study is Japanese language or literature, but your research interest should be in the Japanese context. The field trip in Fukushima was also impressive. We went to some places and learnt how the City was recovered from 2011 earthquake. Thank you Japan Foundation for the best event in my 2016!

31July1025

Summer institute 2016 photo session: staffs and participants

 

